DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > Miscellaneous > General software and network

General software and network General OS-independent software and network questions, X11, MTA, routing, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 17th February 2010
jb_daefo jb_daefo is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 303
Default How to change the font size? atop xterm, aterm, etc

For instance, I have 10 tabs open in a
browser, to "new posts". As I read each
one, in *tiny print* in the titlebar (to
the right of which includes the minimize, , close
buttons)... is the thread title.
Where can that font/and.or/size be increased?
in .Xdefaults? in the settings for the theme
in the window manager? in xinitrc ???
...........
Knowing that would speed up browsing by five
or ten percent, I conjecture...
__________________
FreeBSD 13-STABLE
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 17th February 2010
Oko's Avatar
Oko Oko is offline
Rc.conf Instructor
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kosovo, Serbia
Posts: 1,102
Default

I use Xterm
Code:
$ echo $SHELL
/bin/ksh
$ more .Xdefaults
XTerm*loginShell: true
XTerm*faceName: Mono
XTerm*faceSize: 11
XTerm*background: black
XTerm*foreground: gray
Interactively Ctrl+Click right mouse button to open menu.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 17th February 2010
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 4,125
Default

I use the following script to create 2 new xterms
Code:
#!/bin/sh

size=10
if [ $1 ] ; then
   xterm -fa lucidasanstypewriter-${size} -bg $1  &
else
   xterm -fa lucidasanstypewriter-${size} -bg lightblue &
fi

xterm -fa arial -fs ${size}  -geometry +250+200 &
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 18th February 2010
jb_daefo jb_daefo is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 303
Default

Well, both those methods seem to manipulate the
font *within* xterm (i.e. 40 very large, 10 normal...) but
what I would like to increase the size of is
the common font within the common bar atop the
common window across all
the xtermS, etermS, atermS, etc, it is the same
color atop all of them, and the font is quite small, no
matter how the xterm is started... maybe a different
resolution in xorg.conf even.
__________________
FreeBSD 13-STABLE

Last edited by jb_daefo; 18th February 2010 at 04:44 AM. Reason: Did not type what I meant to type...
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 18th February 2010
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 4,125
Default

You can specify the size of the xterm in the -geometry option.
Code:
#!/bin/sh

font='lucidasanstypewriter-12'
size=132x55
x=0
y=0
title="'-- XML source ---'"

doxterm() {
xterm -ls \
    -fn ${font} \
    -bg ${background} \
    -geometry ${size}+${x}+${y}
    &
}

background="rgb:f/d/f"
#---------------------
y=0

offset=20
for x in $offset $((offset+1024)) $((offset+2048)) ; do
    doxterm 
done

background="rgb:d/f/f"
#---------------------
y=768

offset=20
for x in $offset $((offset+1024)) $((offset+2048)) ; do
    doxterm
done

background="rgb:f/f/d"
#---------------------
y=1536

offset=20
for x in $offset $((offset+1024)) $((offset+2048)) ; do
    doxterm 
done
EDIT: this script creates 9 xterms on all 9 OpenBSD virtual desktops/work spaces, or whatever you want to call them. Don't run it unless you understand it and did modify it
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 18th February 2010
Oko's Avatar
Oko Oko is offline
Rc.conf Instructor
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kosovo, Serbia
Posts: 1,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jb_daefo View Post
Well, both those methods seem to manipulate the
font

That is just NOT true. You didn't even bother to try
Ctrl+click right mouse button

Also
Code:
$ echo "Xterm*geometry: 200x100+0+0" > ~/.Xdefaults
Also properly configuring your WM in my case Calm Window Manager
Code:
$ more .cwmrc |grep xterm
        bind  CM-enter "xterm -geometry 80x24+0+0"
        bind CM-m       "xterm -e nail -A gmail"
        bind CM-space   "xterm -e nail -A gsu"
        autogroup 2     "xterm,XTerm"
Finally always helpful
Code:
$ apropos xterm
koi8rxterm (1) - X terminal emulator for KOI8-R environments
resize (1) - set TERMCAP and terminal settings to current xterm window size
uxterm (1) - X terminal emulator for Unicode (UTF-8) environments
xterm (1) - terminal emulator for X
$ man xterm
And always helpful search by the world second lagest search engine Yandex for people who do not
speak Chinese and can not use world largest search engine Sohu.

http://invisible-island.net/xterm/xterm.faq.html

Last edited by Oko; 18th February 2010 at 03:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 18th February 2010
TerryP's Avatar
TerryP TerryP is offline
Arp Constable
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USofA
Posts: 1,547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jb_daefo View Post
Well, both those methods seem to manipulate the
font *within* xterm (i.e. 40 very large, 10 normal...) but
what I would like to increase the size of is the window that
contains the xterm, eterm, aterm, etc, it is the same
color atop all of them, and the font is quite small, no
matter how the xterm is started...
Do you mean the xterms titlebar font? If so, that's a setting you will have to change in your Window Manager, and would depend on which one you use.
__________________
My Journal

Thou shalt check the array bounds of all strings (indeed, all arrays), for surely where thou typest ``foo'' someone someday shall type ``supercalifragilisticexpialidocious''.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 1st March 2010
jb_daefo jb_daefo is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 303
Default

Okay, the window manager is running at
1280x1024, but I want the fonts in the
title in xterm, eterm, etc to be at
800x600. Unusure how to still...
__________________
FreeBSD 13-STABLE
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 1st March 2010
TerryP's Avatar
TerryP TerryP is offline
Arp Constable
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USofA
Posts: 1,547
Default

What window manager are you using?
__________________
My Journal

Thou shalt check the array bounds of all strings (indeed, all arrays), for surely where thou typest ``foo'' someone someday shall type ``supercalifragilisticexpialidocious''.
Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2010
jb_daefo jb_daefo is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 303
Default

jwm
__________________
FreeBSD 13-STABLE
Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2010
Carpetsmoker's Avatar
Carpetsmoker Carpetsmoker is offline
Real Name: Martin
Tcpdump Spy
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,243
Default

Here is the documentation for your window manager:
http://joewing.net/programs/jwm/fonts.shtml

As an example, in my WM I use the font [em]Sans:size=10[/em] for my titlebars.
__________________
UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things.
Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2010
jb_daefo jb_daefo is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 303
Default

More ?? progress ??
/xlupe/ works good, but I cannot yet get it to
"stick" atop the forum topic (as soon as I move the
mouse to pin the xlupe box to its position, its
target of area magnification changes to lower than
the forum topic title).
/bin/magnifier (gnome-mag) I then installed, but
nothing happens when I run it (I don't use gnome
per se.) access'y/orca supposedly has a FE to
it, but that means an additional dependency...
__________________
FreeBSD 13-STABLE
Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2010
jb_daefo jb_daefo is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 303
Default

Searched the web:
2nd mouse pointer" freebsd OR xorg
...
and a few variants, no results.
...
I figure with a second mouse pointer, one could
position /xlupe/ over the title, and the
second could click it to stay there.

Add a usb mouse or serial trackball ? and/or
some /port/ can do it... (/xnee/ perhaps... not
yet read enough about it).


/edit/
I have a 3x plastic magnifier ruler attached to the monitor.
an item beneath it slants it outward at the bottom.
So at least standing up, the result is achieved.
todo... sitting down (original question).
/end edit/
/edit/
xmag -source 128x128 -mag 2
frame pinned to the forum topic, solves it. EXCEPT once the mouse click returns to the forum, the xmag magnification display is put underneath the browser; invisible...

Last edited by jb_daefo; 12th April 2011 at 05:05 AM. Reason: workaround (august); another possibility...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CLI font size idefix FreeBSD General 3 7th February 2009 11:19 AM
change default font of the X rex FreeBSD General 2 26th October 2008 05:54 PM
Cut and Paste with aterm revzalot OpenBSD General 6 13th August 2008 11:18 PM
Change the Size of a Slice kienjakenobi FreeBSD General 9 27th June 2008 03:01 PM
Wrong screen resolution, font size etc. PatrickBaer FreeBSD General 10 14th May 2008 10:00 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick