DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > NetBSD > NetBSD Installation and Upgrading

NetBSD Installation and Upgrading Have trouble getting NetBSD on your toaster?

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th October 2009
New User

Default Need help-binary package install

Hello, I’m a newbie in netbsd. I have just installed it and now I have a problem to add additional software. I want to see mc and xfce working on my system, so firstly I tried to install mc via pkg_add from /pub/pkgsrc/packages/NetBSD/i386/5.0/All/ or from/pub/pkgsrc/packages/NetBSD/i386/5.0_2009Q2/All/. I do not know about the difference (I installed netbsd 5.0.1 on my laptop).
The first package is mc of cause just to see a 2 panel file manager not a command prompt.
When I start installation from /i386/5.0 like this:
Code:
# pkg_add  -v mc
or like this:
Code:
# pkg_add  -v mc-4.6.1nb4
It start to install it, but it takes ~1,5 h and it finished with:
Code:
Directory ‘/usr/pkg/lib/gio/modules’ disappeared, skipping
pkg_add: Can’t install dependency glib2>=2.14.3
pkg_add: 1 package addition failed.
#mc gives nothing.
After 2 days of this I tried to download all the packages from the official ftp pkgsrc/packages/NetBSD/i386/5.0 to use it locally, but it was impossible (only 20-70kbp/s with a 30Mb/s band width). Secondly I tried to find some mirrors with binaries but I found only compressed sources.

Please help me! I do not know what also can be done to install some programs, graphical interface etc on the netbsd.

Last edited by Carpetsmoker; 11th October 2009 at 02:36 PM. Reason: Added [code] tags
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 12th October 2009
Port Guard

Seems to be an issue with glib2 package, maybe try to compile it from pkgsrc tree. It doesn't have many dependencies so it shouldn't take long.
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 13th October 2009
Package Pilot